Forum home Garden design
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

What to do!!

Hi everyone, please allow me to pick your brains.  I have no background of horticulture what so ever and have no family members with knowlede either.  Having moved into our own home with a large garden after spening 23 years in military accomodation with nothing is somewhat daunting.  We moved in 3 years ago and what was there was very run down, so basically just cleared all the weeds and re seeded a new lawn.  this took great and the following year i put in a small border near to the house, and this looks good to, then last year I did the same with the long borders and have started to plant this out, problem is it just looks like a large piece of grass with a few plants around the edge! What can I do to soften it and make it into an interesting garden? I'm scared that I will ruin the new lawn, put plants in the wrong place etc etc etc.....god I so wish I have a fairy garden mother that could fly over and give me some advice and guidance.  Any ideas folk?

Cheerio Yvonne

• Alina WAlina W Posts: 1,445

You really need to introduce curves into your garden, shaping he lawn into something other than a rectangle. Then you could probably benefit from a few "focal points" in the form of trees or large shrubs; once you have these, you can design around them.

• sotongeoffsotongeoff Posts: 9,802

Widen the borders-do as Alina has said,or turn the square into more of a diamond shape view from the house-perhaps an island bed in the middle?

Consider this- do you really want or need a lawn?

• YviehYvieh Posts: 85

Hi Yvonne,