London (change)
Today 26°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 27°C / 19°C
10 messages
29/04/2013 at 14:06

I have a large (1ft x 3ft) container that would like to place at the front of our house, between the front door and garage, as a focal point. This position gets sunlight from mid-late afternoon until evening in the height of summer. My question would be what kind of hardy, evergreen, flowering shrub would grow well in this size container and position? Ideally I could leave the container in position during the winter months too. I am a novice gardener (but trying to learn!) and would appreciate any advice. I have trawled the Internet for hours trying to find the best plant for my container but now my mind is muddled with all the different names and varieties.... 

29/04/2013 at 14:12

A camellia? If so make sure you use ericaceous compost. get one of the x williamsii hybrids (such as Donation)  rather than the japonicas - they are hardier and don't need so much sunshine to flower. 

29/04/2013 at 14:28

That shrub sounds perfect, and surprisingly it is one I have not seen on my long trek through gardening websites. I should have come here first! So if I grow this in my container will it grow to the 5+ metres I have seen? That's a little larger than I was looking for, but perhaps I can cut the top once it reaches a height I like? (See, I really am new to this!)

29/04/2013 at 14:35

Make sure it does not get morning sun on the flowers, or the petals will turn brown. Good luck with it

29/04/2013 at 14:41

Good suggestion gold1locks. I had Donation and it's very pretty.