London (change)
Today 17°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 9°C
7 messages
11/11/2012 at 15:55

This is an appeal for help with my wilderness. Briefly, I am studying for a degree, my other half is not into gardening, and our garden is long at 100 feet or so. I would like to turn this area at least into something that will be low-maintenance and maybe allow us to sit on it in the summer. It slopes gently downwards and is south-facing. I'm not sure that I could face the maintenance of a lawn. Any ideas would be gratefully received!

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/15648.jpg?width=521&height=350&mode=max

11/11/2012 at 16:21

I think I'd start by just tidying it up.

Rescue that black composter (very useful, if it is a composter), and rescue the hose. It looks as though there might be an expensive garden bench down the far end.

You need to find out what kind of tree that is in the left foreground. It could be a planted fruit tree. There's a smart U-shaped cane just behind it, so someone has bought some expensive climbing plant.

Then I think I'd strim the entire area, just to make it tidy, and rake up all the green rubbish that results, and put it into the composter.

Then you can spend the next few months thinking about what sort of garden you might like.

11/11/2012 at 16:58