Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Advice on plants underneath roses

Olwyn4Olwyn4 Posts: 3

Hi

i was hoping that you would be able to offer some advice please.  I am starting a new rose bed with some beautiful David Austin roses I have just purchased (munstead wood and  Claire Austin - lovely white and dark plum coloured).  what plants would be happy growing in the bed with them and also what would look lovely too.  I'm new to gardening and would greatly appreciate some advice.  Thank you in advance Ollie 

• Bright starBright star Posts: 1,153

Underplanting with Salvias is a good start Olwyn, not only do they look great together the salvias are thought to offer the roses some protection from the usual pests and diseases that they get. Sarah Raven underplants  her roses in this way. I also plant mine with Alchemilla mollis, geraniums and euphorbia oblongata. I love DA roses too and used to have the Claire Austin in a pot, it was beautiful and quite delicate looking but unfortunately ants started nesting in the pot and the Rose died.

Life's tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late.

• Olwyn4Olwyn4 Posts: 3

Thank you - they sounds like fab options.  I will have a look at some salvia to contrast with the rose colours.  Have just sent off for a Sarah Raven catalogue for some more inspiration

• ObelixxObelixx Posts: 30,065

I like to grow alliums with roses.   Their perfume is suppose dt confuse and deter aphids from settling on the roses.    I also grow hardy geraniums such as macrorhizum as its foliage stays below rose flowering height and the flowers come before the roses.   

For early spring, lots of daffs and hyacinths, followed by aquilegias and oriental poppies, penstemons and all sorts of other herbaceous perennials that will spread the season of interest.   Cyclamen for the end of the year and snowdrops for the beginning.