London (change)
Today 28°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 27°C / 17°C
9 messages
13/04/2013 at 09:54
I'm having my front drive block paved with raised planters to the rear edges, although the infill will be predominantly gravelled, I'd like to break up the starkness with some cordylines and other similar plants. I'm a complete novice when it comes to plants, so im enquiring about some low shrubby / hardy plants that will last through all weathers and only require occasional trimming and not drop leaves in the gravel or on my drive? I like the manicured neatly trimmed look and wouldn't mind the occasional trimming of a plant to maintain the shape, but not conifers!! Thanks in advance, fabio...
13/04/2013 at 15:09
I look after raised beds for a nursing home, some of the shrubs are hydrangeas, azalea, pieris, and a few others which I can't remember off hand, we do have a California lilac and fatsia japonica but they may be too big.......whatever, all these shrubs are pretty low maintenance, we have some blue bells and narcissus planted in there. And just to add a little colour in the summer I put quite a few annual begonias in, they look very nice and once again low maintenance, just a little water when they need it. Hope this is of some help, good idea to look at the labels on shrubs to see how high they grow. Each spring with most of the shrubs I care for I give a prune, I read up on them all to make sure I looked after them properly. I also give a general feed (slow release in the spring and an eracious feed on any acid loving shrubs in the spring). This may sound a lot but believe me it isn't.
13/04/2013 at 15:15
Not sure if all that is for you fabio, but I hope it may give you a few ideas.
13/04/2013 at 15:17