London (change)
Today 9°C / 4°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 9°C
5 messages
03/04/2012 at 20:01

Hi 

Sorry if this is in the wrong place or if it has already been asked.

I am quite new to gardening and don't have a lot of spare cash or time, however I do have lots of enthusiasm and I don't mind a bit of hard work!

I currently have 3 wall planters - metal "manger" style with coco matting liners in them, on the front of my house.  Every year I put spring plants in them and every year they do ok for a  couple of weeks then I forget to water them and they practically die off.  I would love to have an all year round display of plants in them but have not got the time to spend watering them every night so I need them to be pretty but also resilient to a bit of abuse/neglect. As the planters are on the front wall of the house they are quite sheltered but don't get a lot of rain.

I would ideally like to plant something now and be able to leave it to do its thing throughout the year with just a littel bit of maintenance.  I would also like the planters to look good in the winter/autumn too.

Ok am I asking the impossible or is there some way to plant them up so that there is something on display all year round - I know I could do spring bulbs but then what?

they are not huge planters - approx 10 inches across.

Thanks for reading

04/04/2012 at 10:40