London (change)
Today 16°C / 13°C
Tomorrow 14°C / 8°C
17 messages
26/11/2012 at 12:50

I have two bare root roses -  one standard, one climber, delivered a couple of days ago.  Due to weather/ground conditions I'm unable to plant them; I'm told that if planting has to be delayed until the Spring I can leave the trees in a tub of water in a frost free environment - could you confirm this is so?  Also any further advice on keeping them 'safe' would be welcome.   I have little knowledge of growing or caring for roses.

Thank you.

26/11/2012 at 12:54

Sounds like potential drowning. How about pots of compost?

26/11/2012 at 12:57

I have just had some delivered. Theycan't be planted out bcause of the ground and Iwill be heeling them in, means half burying them in a raised bed that is not toowet. I guess you could do the same in large pots.

I wouldn't keep them in water

26/11/2012 at 12:58

I can confirm that advice is nonsense-who told you you can leave them in a tub of water????-100% guaranteed way to lose them

If you can't plant them immediately and want to leave it till spring -plant them in pots.

It doesn't need to be frost-free-roses are are hardy plants -but do protect the pots from freezing if we get a prolonged cold spell.

26/11/2012 at 13:44

Even with my limited knowledge, I thought keeping them in water was strange advice which is why I asked the experts!   I do have some large flowerpots both plastic and clay which would accommodate these roses and will visit the garden centre for some suitable compost.  They can live in a sheltered spot at the rear of the garage until I can get them planted.

Thank you all very much.

26/11/2012 at 16:26

Put them in a pot and cover with compost and water - they will be fine till spring.

27/11/2012 at 11:43

Pots Pots Pots!!! You'll definately lose them if immersed in water.