Start a new thread

Hi, i am a novice gardener, and would like to ask, if it is too early  to put my hanging baskets out. i planted them up with, trailing lobelia and verbena, can i also plant out my sweet peas.Any info would be gratefully received.

Hi. I'm a novice gardener as well and would be interested in your replies. I have to plant up a memorial garden at the school this Friday. I created it a few years ago in memory of pupils at our secondary school that have tragically lost their lives whilst being part of the school. I like to plant a Rose with a small headstone in their honour and this Friday ,a parent is coming to do this in memory of her daughter. Sadly, this will make the 5th Rose in honour of a child so I must be able to make the space bright and cheery. Red, White and blue I thought would be an ideal theme this year.....but are petunias likely to die if they go out in 5 days? Can anyone suggest any hardier bedding please? Any advice would be gratefully received
sotongeoff
elizabeth cooley wrote (see)

Hi, i am a novice gardener, and would like to ask, if it is too early  to put my hanging baskets out. i planted them up with, trailing lobelia and verbena, can i also plant out my sweet peas.Any info would be gratefully received.

Sweet peas yes.

Hanging baskets-you are a bit early it is still cold at night-but you need to start hardening thm off gradually-put them out in the daytime and protect them at night.

Do this for a couple of weeks and they will be fine.

sotongeoff
Mollycat2 wrote (see)