London (change)
Today 21°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 13°C
8 messages
16/04/2014 at 14:44

Hi, just wondering if people can offer advice on what the best sources of information are for a total beginner to gardening?

I enjoy being out in the garden and pottering, planting/weeding/pruning etc, but have no real gardening knowledge base or experience, which ordinarily hasn't been a problem.

However....we're hopefully...if all goes well.... going to be lucky enough to be buying a lovely new house soon...only it happens to come with an absolutely stunning garden that has been well tended and even won local garden awards. I don't want to let it go to ruin after all the years of work that has been put into it and would like to learn how to keep it and maintain it etc.... but where to start..... I was weeding in our rental garden today and realised I wasn't even sure if some plants were weeds or not....and started to get worried about my lack of basic knowledge!

So can anyone recommend some good videos or books etc to get me started?

This garden is on a steep slope, is pretty large, has wisteria on the house, roses, all manner of beautifully pruned shrubs, including a huge holly bush, and other climbing plants and many pots - not sure if any of those are staying or not.

So we will have to hire someone to at least trim the hedges as there's no way I'm letting myself climb ladders and use cutting machinery, but otherwise I'd like to do as much as possible.

16/04/2014 at 15:07

Ellerslie83, believe it or not charity shops are a wonderland of garden books often never opened, people give them as presents they sit on shelves and end up in the charity bag, check them out.

My library of well used books give masses of information even though I am from the old school of gardeners, you never stop learning.