London (change)
Today 16°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 8°C
1 to 20 of 22 messages
18/03/2014 at 09:08
Good morning everyone! I am an immensely keen gardener and would place myself in the competent bracket however I am always keen to learn more. Particularly identifying plants, understanding their preferred habitat (soil type, shade/semi shade etc), pruning requirements and I am looking for a book which may cater for this and perhaps even a bit more. Visual aids a must! I have spent most of my working life jumping on trains at 6.00 in the morning to travel into London and finally said enough is enough, handed in my notice and now work for a small local garden maintenance firm and I love it! I need to read, practice and study so I can achieve my main goal which is to become my own boss one day. So, in summary, what would you recommend as good books to start with? Thanks in advance!
18/03/2014 at 09:16

hi, buds i'm a newbie really, everything i've learned is from here, gw programme, and the newish alan titchmarsh 'how to' books, got 5 in series, sit and read when little ones feeding / napping i think they're excellent really easy to follow

18/03/2014 at 09:20

You need the gardener's bible - RHS A to Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants.

18/03/2014 at 09:27

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Shrubs-garden-plant-Roger-Phillips/dp/0330302582

There's a whole range of books by these 2, perennials, annuals, bulbs etc. Good illustrations and where they come from which gives a good indication of what they need.

Also Christopher Lloyd, earlier books rather than later, very informative and a good read.

and Bamboogie's RHS book

18/03/2014 at 09:47

To Bamboogies suggestion I would definitely add the RHS Encyclopaedia of Gardening too...........immensely useful.

18/03/2014 at 15:37