Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Best for privacy

LastV8LastV8 Posts: 4

Hi, we've just moved into a terrace house on a busy main road. The front of the house sees a lot of people walk by and i'd like to put some tall shrubs or trees to sheild the windows and create a bit of privacy. The front of the house has a small courtyard approx 2m x 3m and all concrete so what ever plants/shrubs/trees I put there will have to be potted and be at least 2m tall. I don't mind what sort of greenery it is and I'd rather buy some ready grown rather than buy seedlings.

I'm a complete garden novice so the hardier and more maintance free the plants are the better.

Thank you, what ever help you can offer is greatly appreciated. 

• Bamboo?  It will grow in a pot and it grows rapidly.  There are many varieties out there to choose from.  Bamboo will tell you when it needs water too because the leaves curl so there's less chance of it dying from thirst.

• WelshonionWelshonion Posts: 3,114

Take care you don't plant anything which will make the room dark.  People passing are preferable to having the light on all day in the winter.

• Good thing about pots is that they can be moved image

• Forester2Forester2 Posts: 1,477

I had been thinking about this overnight and came up with the same idea as FarmerG -bamboo - passers by will be distracted by the bamboo swishing about.  Why not go to a garden centre and talk to someone there  as you will need something evergreen and about 6 foot high.  Maybe a laurel of some sort?  The thought of sheer curtains at the window could make you shudder with horror! 

• FairygirlFairygirl Posts: 55,117