London (change)
Today 16°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 11°C
18 messages
23/04/2012 at 13:37

<p style="line-height: 15pt;"><span style="font-family: 'Arial','sans-serif'; color: #333333; font-size: 10pt;">Hello everyone, I'm quite new to gardening and last year I planted something out but I can't remember what. In/near where I planted it lots of little seedlings have come up, and I'm not sure if they are weeds or babies of the plant from last year. <p style="line-height: 15pt;"><span style="font-family: 'Arial','sans-serif'; color: #333333; font-size: 10pt;">Please can someone advise me if these are weeds, or if they are precious seedlings, and if they are seedlings, what are they?! (I know that I have some Aquilegia in the corner of the photo) <p style="line-height: 15pt;"><span style="font-family: 'Arial','sans-serif'; color: #333333; font-size: 10pt;">Thankyou so much, <p style="line-height: 15pt;"><span style="font-family: 'Arial','sans-serif'; color: #333333; font-size: 10pt;">Rachel <p style="line-height: 15pt;"><span style="font-family: 'Arial','sans-serif'; color: #333333; font-size: 10pt;">

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/468604_10150842392449579_628874578_11802528_1719822951_o.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/457908_10150842397709579_628874578_11802535_2060791903_o.jpg

23/04/2012 at 14:06

Some of it looks like  Rudbeckia .

23/04/2012 at 14:11

Oooh! How exciting -thankyou! I don't remember planting that, but I did plant a few plants out. This will teach me to pay a bit more attention to what I plant out.

Thankyou for your help -greatly appreciated.

Rachel

23/04/2012 at 14:29

Are we all convinced that this is Rudbeckia? It might be; but I'm not sure.

I have some Rudbeckia seedlings coming up (from packet seeds), and the leaves look much furier, and less glossy.

Are we suggesting that these are self-sown seedlings? I've never found Rudbeckia to self-seed in my garden (though some peope may find that it does).