London (change)
Today 13°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 11°C / 2°C
11 messages
Tan
24/04/2013 at 12:50

Hi

I was going to buy one to replace a dead plant in my hedge, but I thought it would make sense to buy a spare one and leave it in a pot, so I can easily replace another dead plant should it happen again this or next year. The hedge is more than 2' high already and I am not sure I will be able to get plants of a similar height as it grows further ..

Will it work, how big is the pot needed, any special care ?

Thanks

24/04/2013 at 13:04
You can grow in a pot, no,problem. Keep well fed and watered and in a reasonably large pot
Why did the thuya die? I don't like putting another thuya in its place but I understand your thinking.
Tan
24/04/2013 at 14:16

Thanks, how big is reasonably large pot in tems of liters/cm. Forgive my ignorance, I have very little experience with gardening.

I wouldn't mine leaving it there even if I don't need it for replacement in the future, may come handy for garden decoration purposes.

This topic was about the dying thuja, it has fell off by now, only the smaller green part remains, but it is too different in size to the other plants. I plan to take it out and replace with an equally sized plant: http://www.gardenersworld.com/forum/problem-solving/thuja-plicata-turned-red/69946.html

24/04/2013 at 16:39

Thuja plicata is a giant conifer (Western Red Cedar - it's what cedar greenhouses are made of) which grows to over 200 feet tall. 

Tan
24/04/2013 at 18:05

http://apps.rhs.org.uk/plantselector/plant?plantid=5498

24/04/2013 at 18:15
Tan
24/04/2013 at 18:30

Yeah, I've seen what wikipedia says, but this's clearly a different thing. I think "Atrovirens" might be the key.

24/04/2013 at 18:58

Atrovirens is a cultivar, final height 100 feet, half the height of the species, but still taller than an English Oak.