London (change)
Today 13°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 9°C
18 messages
27/12/2013 at 09:47

Hi All

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas.

6 more days off work for me, and I'm itching to do 'stuff' in the garden - despite the weather!

Having recently moved house I gained a very lovely, but very overgrown, garden, and as a total novice I'm feeling rather overwhelmed.  So, I'd be really grateful to receive any advice about what I can do now.

I have read I need to tackle the pruning/renovation in Spring, but I'm worried about a Clematis at the front of the house.

I moved in in September and have not seen it flower, and it currently looks like dead wood - but it's huge and overgrown and the wooden trellis that attaches it to the front of the house is rotting and coming away from the wall.

I'd like to cut it back to ground level ideally - and replace the trellis with something more robust - but I don't want to lose it by chopping it down at the wrong time of year. 

However, it's very windy at the front of my house, and given how unstable it is I think I might lose it if I don't do something.

Can anyone advise how this is best handled?

Many thanks in advance - Steph

27/12/2013 at 10:06

Hi Steph,

it will depend what sort of clematis you have, which maybe hard to tell until it springs back to life, but whatever one it is, don"t do any pruning now. Best to wait til about March until you make a start.  The reason is that cutting it back will stimulate new growth - even in the middle of winter, and that new growth will then get clobbered by any frosts, which will set the plant back.

Some photos (particularly close ups of the dead leaves etc) will help peeps on here identify your clematis, and can then give more detailed advice.

27/12/2013 at 10:45