London (change)
Today 13°C / 5°C
Tomorrow 12°C / 7°C
16 messages
20/09/2012 at 17:08

Hi all, I'm new to Gardeners' World and this is my first question. 

Can anyone recommend a daffodil bulb that is suitable for heavy clay soil?  I have been told that if I put one in that is most like a wild daffodil that I have the best chance.  Is this true?

20/09/2012 at 17:35

http://www.pfaf.org/user/Plant.aspx?LatinName=Narcissus+pseudonarcissus

Well the above link seems to suggest that it would be, but as my soil is so free draining it's like dust, I'd wait for other posters who garden in a similar substrate to comment on their experience.

20/09/2012 at 18:59

Hello Sarah and welcome.

I garden on heavy clay and I have not really had a problem with daffodil bulbs, although most bulbs do not like it. Can I suggest that you buy a large bag of grit £2.50 and put some in the planting hole before you plant the daffs. That way you can pick any varieties that you would prefer.

I buy at least one bag of grit each year for my small garden and it is money well spent.

20/09/2012 at 20:09

Hello Sarah , I have heavy soil, overall my spring bulbs do reasonably well.

A year ago I bought a lot of different daff bulbs- spent a little bit of  money on some of themThe ones that did the best for me this Spring  were the cheap ones bought from Wilkos etc. This may have been down to the weather both at the time and the year previous.  I had a lot that came up blind or too early so the flowers were damaged.

All the bulbs are still in the ground so I'm hopeful to have a better show for the Spring.

Interesting advice kate- I begrudge spending too much money on the garden but £2.50 sounds like my sort of price. Just out of interest how much grit do you put in to the planting hole- some bits of my garden could always do with some more drainage.