Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

erysiums

My eriseum are getting towards the end of there flowering time.Do i leave them,or chop them to the ground or chop a bit off them as i'm new to growing wallflowers.

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3,277
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,445

Are we discussing those biennial plants used as spring bedding or the perennial shrub like ones?

In the sticks near Peterborough
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 3,277
    The user and all related content has been deleted.

I think graham might be talking about the biennials as he says finished flowering. Bowles Mauve never finishes flowering. It was there for my new years day flower count.

• Thanks for all your helpfull comments.Like i said,i am not too knowledgable about wallflowers but i have 2 types.One is called Erysium most scented and the other is,i don't really know but i bought about 24 or 36 from one of the mail order places,either Thompson and  Morgan or j Parkers,but like i said,this is the first year i have grown them as i know more about roses.I hope this as been some help.

Hi Graham. These are perennial but mostly grown as biennials (seed sown about now or a bit earlier, flower next spring, chuck them out after flowering). Yours may survive for another year but won't be as good as new ones either grown from seed yourself, bought from garden centres in autumn or as plugs whenever they are marketed. I'd put the bundles available in autumn as the most reliable and easy method.