London (change)
Today 27°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 27°C / 17°C
14 messages
17/06/2012 at 10:07

hi we are moving to a house that the main garden is at the side front of house and seperated from public pathway by a small wall. i would like to make this private as it will be our main garden, so was thinking of putting decorative trellises or fence work on wall and need some fast growing evergreen climbers , it is also a sunny spot can anyone help as i am new to gardening thankyou

17/06/2012 at 11:08

Hmm.. a difficult one as there are not many fast growing evergreens that I can think of which would give you a quick response.  Avoid Russian Vine like the plague or else you'll be lost within a couple of years within it's tendrils.

Clematis armandii is evergreen and you'll get lovely scented flowers in spring but it won't tolerate windy sites.  Clematis montana is very fast growing and smothered in pale pink flowers in spring but it's not evergreen. Unfortunately I lost mine this year to a very severe frost early spring.    You could mix one of these with a rambling rose or a jasmine officinale or even an ivy.  Ivy comes in all sorts and doesn't have to be just plain old green. 

Photo of an Ivy living with an Elaeagnus (don't know which one) which has decided it might like to climb with the Ivy so I've left it, topped with a Campsis (not evergreen but late flowering).  See my blank bit of arch where the Clematis was - boo hoo...

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/8909.jpg?width=800&height=350&mode=max

Photo of the other side of the two together.  They get a fair amount of shade from an oak tree during the day but they seem to like it. I think just greens works well.

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/8910.jpg?width=794&height=350&mode=max

Then perhaps a Kiwi.  Not evergreen but is very fast growing and if you had a male and female you could get the fruit too (although I only have one and get little fruits so I don't know how that works)