Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Fern, Ferns and more Ferns

Hello folks. I hope I'm positing in the correct section. I bought several baby ferns  last month at the beginning of November. I live In NYC and it's currently winter. (I keep them indoor and in the small pots they came in). I notice I have to water them daily  or every other day sometimes. Or else they start to wilt. Once I water them they perk up. The roots are pretty packed in the pots. Should I wait till spring to repot like it's recommend or repot now.

P.S. I'm new to plants, I've only planted roses in my back yard during the summer or grow aloe vera. 

Thanks for your help!!!!

• ObelixxObelixx Posts: 30,064

If their roots are packed and they're thirsty every day it seems to me they're asking to be potted o into at least the next size up.   I have no idea what kind of planting medium they would need nor what is available in NY (this is a British based forum with just a few ex-pat contributors in Europe and Oz) but your local garden/plant store should be able to help.

I would then pot them on again in spring.

Vendée - 20kms from Atlantic coast.
    "The price good men (and women) pay for indifference to public affairs is to be ruled by evil men (and women)."
    Plato
  • THanks for responding Obelixx, 

Hello England lol, I had no idea this was a British based forum.  I have already purchased my soil, so I've got that covered. 

I figured repoting them made sense. But didn't want to over do it and somehow kill them or slow down their progression. 

Thanks again for your advice.I will repot themimage

• Tray14Tray14 Posts: 210

Hi Just Tesha and welcome - question for you - I'm travelling to NYC mid March - what will the weather be like ? 

enjoy your ferns - I have 4 in the garden and love them ?

• Hi Tray14, Thank you for the welcome!!!!