London (change)
Today 10°C / 5°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 10°C
1 to 20 of 24 messages
20/04/2012 at 05:14

Just been out on the deck as I do first thing most mornings to check my plants. All this rain we have had and 3 of my large pots containing clematis are flooded with water...............yes, you guessed it; I didn't check the pot for drainage holes when I chose my pots. What can I do to remedy this? am I able to repot these plants? Help much appreciated.............

20/04/2012 at 05:16

PS..............Pots are glazed and don't think I will be able to add drainage holes???????? Or will I ???

20/04/2012 at 06:48

I am no expert on clematis.

But you could hold some paper over the soil, to hold it in place, and then carefully tip the pots onto their sides, to let all the water drain away.

I do have some large glazed pots. Most of mine do have holes, even if they are very small; though perhaps yours do not. Conceivably, someone who was expert, could dill a hole into the bottom of a pot, tipped on its side. In that case you could leave the plants in the pots, as they are.

Hopefully you'll get some much better answers, very shortly....

20/04/2012 at 07:33

First you need to drain the exess water either by laying them on there side or take them out the pots and re pot into plastic pot with holes and then you could put them back in there orignial pots. dont leave them to sit in the water or the plant will die.

20/04/2012 at 07:42
I think that your first priority is to get the plants out of their current sodden conditions - and I'm not sure that just tipping the pots on their sides wll be enough. http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/contain/msg0304460832260.html (hope the link works!) is about drilling holes in glazed containers. Apparently you put duct tape over the area you want to drill into, then go slowly... I think I'd delegate it! Good luck.
20/04/2012 at 07:44