London (change)
Today 9°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 11°C / 10°C
10 messages
19/09/2013 at 16:05
Hi again to everyone, can you tell me if it is time to trim down my fuchsia plants yet and if so how do I do it and keep till next year. I am a real novice as I have never taken cutting before and this years plants have been stunning.
19/09/2013 at 16:46

No, don't do it yet Sheila, wait till late March/April next year and then cut them right down.  Are they hardy or not, planted outside in the ground or in pots?  

19/09/2013 at 17:11

The technique I use is to cut them back by half in October - strip off any remaining leaves (feels sad when they may still have flowers) and then lay them down horizontally in a cold, dark place until next March.

I have mine in a an excavated area under the workbench in a cold greenhouse, laid side by side , sometimes in two layers, and then covered with several layers of damp newspaper with a couple of wooden planks over the top.  They need to be frostfree but cold.  In March I take them out and the new ghrowths are already showing - keep them cold but out in the light    - water well, and away they go.

19/09/2013 at 17:33

Hi sheila, here is a link to a Fuchsia site and it should give you all the info you need for Fuchsias. I love my Fuchsias' but had to dispose of a few as they got Fuchsia Gall Mite, the Fuchsias' I still have  seem to be free of this nasty disease, thank goodness.

http://www.fuchsiaflower.co.uk/cuttingspage.htm

19/09/2013 at 19:08

That's a helpful site donutsmrs (I see you are in the Westie fan club too) - is there any way of knowing which fuchsia are hardy, or do you take cuttings in case and see if any of the others survive?  I have a few in hanging baskets which I was going to plant out and hope for the best.

20/09/2013 at 08:57
Morning to all, thank you for all the help and advice for my fuchsia cuttings. It has been really helpfully and can't wait till next spring to see the results.
22/09/2013 at 03:29