Start a new thread

1 to 19 of 19 replies

I don't like grasses personally but I need an ID on this please.

Dovefromabove

I'm a grass novice, but I think the white line in the leaf indicates that it's a Miscanthus - Hosta and Verdun will undoubtedly be able to confirm that or not, and tell you much more than I can.

Watch out, I used not to be that keen on grasses ... but they're addictive 

Obelixx

Looks like one of the miscanthus to me with taht central stripe down the leaves but who knows which one?

Verdun likes grasses so maybe he recognises it.

Obelixx

Dove - I got into grasses in a big way a few years ago but apart from miscanthus zebrinus and miscanthus something else with leaves like the above and frothier flowers they all froze to death and even those two aren't wonderful after the cold wet spring and early summer.   A recent purchase of some molinia "Transparent" is doing well over by the pond and some bronze carex is self seeding all over the woodland path.

On the whole I'm coming back round to thinking the place for grass is short and green and in a lawn with clover and daisies and self heal!

Hortum-cretae

The miscanthus could be the cultivar 'Silberspinne'. The other grass is anemanthele lessoniana.

H-C 

Advertisement

Hortum-cretae

One of my favourites. Evergreen, colours well in the colder months. Beware the flowering stems - 4ft long plus and beautifully fine and graceful, but droop because of their thin structure and can make the whole plant several feet across. I found a hedgehog hibernating in one last year.

H-C

Dovefromabove

I have Miscanthus nepalensis, which is incredibly beautiful, and Molinia 'Transparent' which is also incredibly beautiful.  The other tall grass I have is Molinia caerulea 'Karl Foerster' which has beautiful purplish flowers - love it.   I'm hoping they survive a Norfolk winter - they came through last winter, but it was very mild. 

Obelixx