Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

grass-identification-please

PanoplyPanoply Posts: 75

Hello all,

I left this patch unweeded next to the beans as there were fennel, nigella and a miniature (20cm!!) sunflower growing, but there's also this interesting grass. I really like it but have no idea what it is. It's growing in a c shape from the ground, with these long (30cm ish) stems and then a big flat leaf. Any ideas?

Thank you!

• Looks like a bamboo!!

• SwissSueSwissSue Posts: 1,447

Definitely looks like a bamboo, get rid of it quick, or you'll have it everywhere. Has the neighbour got bamboo? Could have spread from there.

• PanoplyPanoply Posts: 75

Oh dear! It does rather! I hope it isn't, I've only heard bad things about garden bamboos.

I've no experience with bamboo (apart from those little potted ones for your windowsill, which I always managed to kill) but the stems don't look how I'd imagine. The leaves are also hairy.. do bamboos have hairy leaves?

I can't see any neighbours who have bamboo so don't know where it'd come from.

• granmagranma Posts: 1,933

Does Bamboo have flowers / seed   , Maybe its come to you via the birds . ?

• Tropical SamTropical Sam Posts: 1,488

Does not look like Bamboo to me with the way the leaves are growing up the stem and the way it is fanning out from the centre. It reminds me more of a type of Water Reed or some native.

• addictaddict Posts: 659

Dig it up stick it in a pot and see what it turns into. Then if it is bamboo you won't have to wrestle it out of the ground.