London (change)
Today 28°C / 20°C
Tomorrow 25°C / 17°C
12 messages
01/03/2014 at 21:15

So... I'm a total gardening newbie... moved into a new house last year and for the first time, have a lovely garden to rescue! I have a blank canvas, and have mainly gone with hardy annuals, to give me some motivation to then work on something more long term. I've become a complete gardenaholic already, (my husband thinks its hilarious that I have even got a little notebook with the vital stats of my seed collection!),  and have learnt a ridiculous amount so far (mostly identifying where I've gone wrong before, and still a LONG way to go!)

Anyway, I have accumulated a large collection of seeds, and am so excited to start, but, as a novice, I am having problems visualising my grown plants, based on the little close up pictures i can find online, mainly just focused on the flower etc. I wondered if i posted a list of the seeds I have so far, would you lovely people mind sharing any pics that you might have of them in your garden etc, so that i can get more of an idea of what to put where? the ground coverage plants on my list are going to be an attempt at planting paving cracks etc. 

I've spent the last week or so working on my new borders. They have been dug out, turned and turned, MP compost added (dense clay soil once i go down a bit) and my rotted horse manure added yesterday. Should i add FBB also, before planting?

Here is my list! Im grateful for any pics and info!

Aubrieta (purple cascade)

Dierama pulcherrima 'Slieve Donard Hybrids'

Erigeron karvinskianus 'Profusion'

Candytuft 'Dwarf Fairyland Mixed

Viola tricolor

Morning Glory 'Heavenly Blue'

Morning Glory 'Star Of Yelta'

Sunflower 'Mongolian Giant'

Californian Poppy 'Jelly Beans'

Cornflower 'Classic Fantastic'

Poppy 'Ladybird'

Calendula officinalis 'Neon'

Sunflower 'Solar Flash' F1 Hybrid

Stock 'Night Scented'

Linum grandiflorum 'Rubrum'

Poppy 'Red Pom Poms'

Easy Annuals 'Fairy Mixed'