Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Hi I'm new here, and would like some advice please!!

Rebecca64Rebecca64 Posts: 30

Hi Everyone

I am new here, and would like to Introduce myselfimage. I am not sure if I am doing it in the correct place, apologies if not. I live in South Wales with my husband and 2 daughters, 15yrs and 9yrs old. We have a medium size garden, and I have always loved having as many plants and flowers etc as possible. However I am just a beginner, and have little knowledge on gardening, but I do try.

I am passionate about helping wildlife. I always try to have plants that are helpful to the wildlife, and also love helping the birds. I am planning to plant loads of nectar/pollen rich plants in my garden this yearimage.

Now that I have finally found the courage to introduce myself here, I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice. I planted a Rowan tree, 2 years ago in my garden. The last year it has really grown in height, the lower half has loads of long branches, but the upper half has none yet. So at the moment it looks a little odd.  I did read on some site previously that when planting a young tree, it shouldn't need anything done to it for the first 5 years, but I am unsure if this is true.  Could someone varify for me if the above is true please, and also advise me if I should be paying more attention to the young tree.  I know I probably sound really silly haha, but I wanted a rowan tree for years, and now I have one I want to look after it correctly.  Do I just leave it or am I supposed to cut the branches, so it grows more evenly? 

Thankyou in advance  

Rebeccaimage

• DovefromaboveDovefromabove Posts: 88,138