London (change)
Today 13°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 5°C
11 messages
27/03/2014 at 17:41

Last year I ordered some begonias Apricot shades from T&M they arrived as tubers, which although I followed the instructions nothing happened.  This year I thought I'd cheat a little so ordered them as plug plants.

Please bear with me, as I have no gardening knowledge what so ever.

The plants have just arrived and are tiny, where as the tubers they sent last year where like new potato size. 

How can these be the same plants?

27/03/2014 at 18:48

It is possible that the plugs are grown from cuttings, rather than tubers. (or that they are cloned from cells) I believe (and begonias are not something I know much about) that it may be pretty easy to grow begonias from cuttings; or using the leaf method.

When your plants are growing well in the summer, you could try this; take a leaf, make a few incisions with a sharp knife, lay it on some moist gritty compost in a small pot, pin it down with dressmakers pins, place the pot in a clear polythene bag and leave for a week or two. In principle you should get several of the cuts in the leaves forming roots. And therefore...plants. If you have somewhere to keep them through the winter; a conservatory or frost free greenhouse or a south facing windowsill; you will have your plants for next summer; free. Though, one neighbour I believe digs up the tubers and keeps them somewhere dry and above freezing to plant in her troughs the following year.

27/03/2014 at 20:31

T&M sell seeds of Apricot Shades Begonia, so presumably they grow the plug plants from seed too.

The tubers would form as the plant grew during the season, then the tuber can be kept from year to year, growing in size each season.

27/03/2014 at 20:35

Some bedding plants are grown from seed and the tuber forms later and from cuttings as well. Like dahlias you can grow them from seed and the tuber forms later.

27/03/2014 at 21:08