London (change)
Today 12°C / 6°C
Tomorrow 10°C / 6°C
8 messages
21/02/2014 at 17:44

Hi all

I've found no shortage of information about the amount of space to leave between a climber and its support/wall/fence etc., but little about how to space climbers from one another.  I'm planting along two 12m fences, so lots to cover!

As a rule of thumb, should I look at the maximum spread of a plant and leave that much space between it and the next plant?  For example, if the maximum spread of a climber is 3m, should I leave 1.5m either side of the plant, or can I plant them closer together than that?

At the moment I plan to plant a selection of clematis, akebia, honeysuckle, choosing specific ones to match the conditions (one of the fences faces north, the other south).

Thank you.  Sorry if this is a stupid question but I am a rank amateur where gardening is concerened....

21/02/2014 at 18:45

Not a stupid question at all pariate 

In theory you would look at the ultimate spread of the plant as you say, but I'd reckon most of us here probably don't do that! It also depends on when each plant flowers - you may want a succession of flowering so, for example, you might put two clematis which flower at different times quite closely together so that the same space is covered for a longer period of time.  Like shrubs - or any other plant -  the conditions in your garden can affect the ultimate size as well, so you need to consider that as well. What grows like mad in one part of the country could be well behaved in another. I tend to plant closer than is probably ideal, but I always reckon I can prune back a little, or just remove something if it gets too big for the area it's in. Just remember that the closer you plant, the more quickly nutrients will be taken up, so you will probably need to feed more often.

Not sure I actually  helped you much there! 

21/02/2014 at 18:46