London (change)
Today 18°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 15°C
1 to 20 of 30 messages
05/06/2012 at 00:47

I am just learning to grow foxglove flowers so that the bees will come to my area. Can anyone tell me from the time after there are not flowers how to make the seeds? Also, the rain broke the stems and I had to cut them. Will I be able to get the seeds? If so how?

05/06/2012 at 01:04

Unfortunately there aren't any seeds for you to collect unless the plants have flowered and then set seed themselves, which it is most probably too early for.

05/06/2012 at 01:08

Foxgloves should self sow  around your garden if you leave the flower stems on, you will see new plants come up with oval shaped leaves that are furry or slightly rough and green. They will grow to about palm size by winter time. Leave them bee (haha) and they will do all the work for you next year getting much bigger in the spring and flowering next year to begin the cycle all over again.

Flower stems that are broken will only produce seed if the seed has had good time to ripen which I doubt is the case. The shops will sell packets of seeds or some folks here generously offer spare seed as and when they have some.

05/06/2012 at 01:22

The plants did bloom all the blooms were gone. I was trying to let them open to make more. The rain broke the stems, so I am unable to make the seeds? or can I hang them to dry and still make the seeds?

05/06/2012 at 06:33

Whether foxgloves will self-seed depends on the soil. I'm on a clay soil and foxgloves rarely self-seed. Foxgloves actually love to grow on loamy banks which have excellent drainage.

Foxgloves are really economical to raise from seed. Raising from seed is a bit of a hassle because foxgloves are bienniel, so you need to sow the seed this year (now), and overwinter the plants, before they flower.