Start a new thread

1 to 16 of 16 replies

Hi, 

I'm new to gardening and going to ask a bit of a silly question perhaps! 

Is it ok to plant plants in autumn / winter or should i wait till spring / summer?

I don't want to kill anything if we have a frost. Should I leave the plants I have already bought in their plastic pots till better weather.

Thanks.

It depends on the plants really - what have you got?

Hostafan1

With container grown plants,so long as the ground is frozen solid, or waterlogged, you can pretty much plant at any time of year.

As raisingirl suggests, some , more tender plants, might need a little TLC over the winter.

Obelixx

Most gardeners think autumn is best as the soil is still warm and the plants are dormant above soil and that gives the roots a chance to settle in and develop in time to support the upper growth spurt in spring.  If it freezes, they'll certainly be better in the ground than in pots.

That said, if your plants are frost tender, they need caring for thru winter in a frost free shelter or else in teh ground and with a cloche or some fleece.   Depends what you have.

Dovefromabove
Hostafan1 says:

With container grown plants,so long as the ground is frozen solid, or waterlogged, you can pretty much plant at any time of year.

As raisingirl suggests, some , more tender plants, might need a little TLC over the winter.

See original post

Think Hosta's made a typo there ... I'm sure he meant to say so long as the ground isn't frozen solid

Advertisement

Fairygirl

Hosta ....d'oh!  

I like planting things out at this time of year, as spring ground is usually too cold and soggy. As the others have said, it's only more tender things that need a bit of protection. Small/young plants are better kept sheltered over winter too, and allowed to grow on a bit before putting out next year,  as they would struggle with soil and weather conditions and often succumb to that, or slugs and snails etc. 

Borderline