Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Japanese anenome

Foxy66Foxy66 Posts: 6
I have a formal garden with 4 boxed areas which I would like to grow lavender in all 4. In 2 of the areas we have jap anenome at the mo. I have been advised not to plant anything in these areas for 3 years until the jap anen has been dug up and erased. I can't wait 3 years though as I want to start enjoying the garden. Would a membrane work? I am a complete novice and in need of advice! Many thanks 

• YviestevieYviestevie Posts: 7,066

A lot of people like Japanese Anemone, I can't stand it.  It has proved to be a real thug in my garden.  I am currently in the process of getting rid of it.  Firstly, I dug up as much as I could.  Every bit of root you leave in the garden starts a new plant so try not to leave any.  That said you will inevitably leave some behind.  As soon as it starts to show leaves above ground use glysophate on the leaves.  I used Round Up gel and smear it on the leaves every fortnight.  I will keep doing this until no more appears. 

I have replanted the area even though the JA is still showing through, I'll just have to work round it.

Good luck.

Hi from Kingswinford in the West Midlands
  • TopbirdTopbird Posts: 8,352

I agree with Verdun and Stevie that membrane would almost certainly not work in this instance & that cultivation & zapping are the only way to go.

Do you know how long the plants have been there Foxy? If they are still (relative) babies (say 1 - 3 yrs old) the root systems will be much less developed and much easier to dig out. If, however, they are established plants it will be harder to eradicate them.