London (change)
Today 24°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 22°C / 16°C
15 messages
30/06/2012 at 09:15
Hi I am kinda new to gardening so this year I thought I would have ago at growing a few plants from seeds. Lavender being one. I know it won't flower ths year (as I planted it ths year) but am after any information about re potting them. They have outgrown their little seed trays I originally planted them in. Do I plant them in a bigger pot? If so do they each have a pot or can 2 or 3 go in the same pot? Or should they go out in my garden yet? Any help or information would be appreciated. Thanks Jem x
30/06/2012 at 09:30

You are not saying how big they are but they do need potting on and growing on-one to a 3 inch pot will be fine-don't plant out until you have sizeable plants

30/06/2012 at 09:36
Hi sorry, they are between 1nch & 2nch's now. Would you recommend putting 2 or three into the same pots? Only asking as I only have spare 10cm pots.
Thanks
30/06/2012 at 09:36

Hello,  I'm growing a fair bit from seed but not grown lavender.

Yes they do need to be potted up into bigger pots.

It is advisable put one in each new pot so they have room to develop and then you get more individual plants. Sometimes in the case of wallflowers I do put an extra one in. Depends on how much space I have.

I don't know that much about lavender but my feeling is that they would probably be too small to go out yet and with the current weather.

30/06/2012 at 09:39
Hi Hollie thanks for your reply. Am thinking the same about going outside but just wanted an experts or a keen gardners opinion : )
The only spare pots I have are 10cm which is why I mentioned about putting 2 or 3 into the same pot?
30/06/2012 at 09:42

Had to check what 10 cms is -that will be fine -but one to each pot-give them room as HH says to develop

30/06/2012 at 10:08
Sotongeoff thanks for your reply. It's much appreciated
30/06/2012 at 16:36