London (change)
Today 14°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 10°C
13 messages
27/02/2014 at 12:52

I was wondering if anyone knows if it's ok to plant spring bulbs amongst my fruit bushes. I intend to plant blackcurrants, redcurrants, raspberries and thornless blackberries in raised beds (easier than trying to fight with my heavy clay soil) but don't like the idea of all that earth sitting bare and boring for so long. I figured that some snowdrops, crocus, dafs etc... would bring some colour to the area and (hopefully) go some way to deterring the neighbours cat from messing there. Although there is some info online about companion planting, I can't seem to find any info about planting bulbs with fruit. Any input would be gratefully received. I'm pretty new to this gardening lark, and although I'm not especially good at it, I'm certainly enthusiastic  

27/02/2014 at 13:08

I have daffs planted in my blueberry bed and strawberries along the front edge of my black and redcurrant bed.

You just need to make sure the bulbs aren't right in the roots of your fruit bushes but further out under their canopy where they will get enough sun and rain and light to perform before your bushes are covered in blossom and foliage.

You can also spread a 2 to 3 inch thick mulch of bark chippings under your shrubs once the bulbs are planted and that will help deter cats too as they won't be able to dig in the soil.

27/02/2014 at 13:21

I adopted the same idea in two of my beds, it looks good pretty much all year round now.

27/02/2014 at 13:57

I think from a home grower perspective you'll be fine. I'm sure any show grower would tell you not to but I'd be surprised if you noticed. I've planted bulbs amongst mine.

27/02/2014 at 14:12

Thanks for the quick replies. Thats great news. Can't wait to get moving on this project