London (change)
Today 11°C / 5°C
Tomorrow 8°C / 4°C
12 messages
18/10/2013 at 08:40

Good morning everyone. Ready for another silly question from a total novice?
I've read that you should offer some protection to overwintering perennials, once they've been cut back (so for example, my acanthus, monarda, agapanthus & delphiniums) in the form of mulch. I've looked through many books; what I can't seem to establish is if you are meant to smother/cover the crowns with the chosen mulch, or spread it around the crowns. One book says the mulch should have no contact with the plant's leaves yet in others I've seen it say that you should loosely cover the crowns. Which is right - and when do I do it?? Many thanks for any help you can give me!

18/10/2013 at 08:53

i cover all the plant for winter, you can mulch your garden any time of year, when bob flowerdew was asked when the the best time to mulch was he said every sunday morning  seriously your perenials will disapear underground in the winter mulched or not so if you have the material use it now and in spring when the plants are growing mulch round 

i dare say somebody will have differant advice

18/10/2013 at 08:56

sorry cant edit i meant in spring mulch round the crown

18/10/2013 at 08:57
Not a silly question at all - have been trying to find the answer myself ! Will be watching thread with interest. Thanks little-ann, your advice makes sense. I have, however, been worried before about rotting crowns if they are buried for the winter.
18/10/2013 at 09:03

If the perennial dies down completely, eg to a bulb or rootstock like a canna or hemerocallis, then you can mulch over it. If it only dies to a rosette at the base, then keep mulch out of the crown or centre of it.

18/10/2013 at 09:27