London (change)
Today 15°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 16°C / 8°C
16 messages
12/07/2012 at 22:01

Hello

I'm new to this gardening lark and need advice please! I've just moved into a house with a backyard - and it is just that...a yard. So I'm looking to brighten it up with some tubs, hanging baskets, whatever I can really. So we're in July now, is there anything I can do now to make a start in transforming it? I'm also thinking about getting some growbags and maybe try to grow some veg, any ideas?

I would appreciate any advice anyone can throw my way! Thanks. 

12/07/2012 at 22:09

Depending on your area, many garden centres still have planted-up hanging baskets for sale - those would brighten up your yard immediately. You will may also find that they still have fuchsias and begonias, which can both grow in tubs for the summer; they are also likely to have Shasta daisies, coreopsis and rudbeckia, that will keep flowering into the autumn.

12/07/2012 at 22:11

One of the first things you need to find out is how much sun your little yard gets.  Which way does it face?  Where does the sun rise and set?  Are you surrounded by high buildings or trees which will cast shadows in the spring and autumn?  

You need to know these things so that you know where you can plant your sun-lovers and where the plants that need shade will like it best.

I think the first thing I'd do to cheer it up is buy a few pretty pelargoniums (what used to be called geraniums) in pots and put them by your back door step to make you smile as you go in and out.  They'll need to live indoors in the winter, but that's ages away.

12/07/2012 at 22:12

Hello fabulousemmalina:  the best advice is - make haste slowly!  When you first move to a new garden, be it large or small, you need to spend some time appraising it, seeing how much natural light you get, whether or not you have a microclimate, and also checking soil conditions.