London (change)
Today 24°C / 17°C
Tomorrow 22°C / 16°C
8 messages
15/08/2013 at 15:49

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to the gardening side. I recently did some landscaping, put a nice wooden sleeper border over freshly laid new turf. The garden is however looking a bit bare.

I have a SE facing bed sees sunlight in the morning and then shade in the afternoon, I think we call this partial shade. I think it's a sandy / stoney soil and I've ordered a PH tester to see the acidity.

My question is have plants are suitable for different soil types on the same bed, if for example I mulch in some localised compost. I really want to plant some purple thistles to get some butterflies into the area, but I'm also interested in other plants which like good quality soil..

15/08/2013 at 22:32

If it were only so simple to put a blob of compost in one part of the garden and a different blob in another. Unfortunately, the rain, the wind,the worms and the birds all conspire to mix everything up and you end up back where you started only a lot poorer. 

The best idea is to find out what type of soil you have and then buy plants that like that type of soil. If you want to beat nature at her own game, you can grow unsuitable plants in pots, isolated from the surrounding, natural conditions, in bought-in compost.

Lyn
16/08/2013 at 12:26

This is a south east facing border, it has some of everything in there, it all grows together, I have never really bothered about what goes where. I only started this garden in 2012, from seeds and cuttings.

There is Echinops, rudbeckias, roses, cleome, sweet william, primulas, sweet peas, echium, clematis, honeysuckle, a potato climber, cornflowers, wallflowers, achillia,montbretia, dahlias,sea hollie, anturinum,echinachea, verbena bon, guara, and lots more that I cant remember. Plenty there for bees and butterflys.

In the Spring and early summer it was full of foxgloves, lupins,  delphiniums, and others.