Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Newbie with lots of questions

Hi all... Im a gardening newbie and need lots of help. Im sure i will have endless questions once i get properly stuck in, but for now, just a few to get started!

Until this year, ive  been limited to containers and balconies,  but thanks to a house move, ive now got a front and back garden to fill, and cant wait to get started.

Front garden....

currently grass in good condition, with one border with 2 healthy acers, one at either end. need something colourful to go between... ideally id like something annual (i think?) and relitively easy / hardy. although the front garden is south facing, and very sunny, its still Belfast so can be shady, and this border is against a small wall (maybe 3ft tall). ideas?

the other side of the front garden has another 2 acers, both in seperate corners, in dug out square beds. Im thinking id like something that provides ground coverage and a pop of colour, but would the shade of the acers restrict it?

i love the wildflower cottage garden look, and half fancy just throwing mixed seeds around the borders to see what appears, but surely it cant really be that easy?

back garden

back is decked and paved, decking is fine, paving is ugly mismatched slabs that i cant afford to replace as yet. running along one side of the decking, against a fence, is a 1ft wide flowerbed, empty, in horrible waterlogged condition. it gets sun in the evening, but its also shaded by a rowan tree, it looks quite pitiful really... is there anything that would love those conditions?