London (change)
Today 14°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 11°C
1 to 20 of 26 messages
15/08/2012 at 22:39

i had 36 perennial plugs two months ago and have gradually put them into bigger pots as needed. as i am new to this , do i keep putting them into bigger pots till next year? i only have a shed with a little window. should i build a cold frame before winter or can you suggest what i do with them. they have been like my babbies and i really look after them

15/08/2012 at 22:50
Alflemoon. I would keep them in the pots you have now but cover with fleece when colder weather comes in winter. Do you live in mild area? It's not good practice to pot up for winter because you simply want them to keep alive. She'd isn't really good idea. Watch them over winter to make sure they don't dry out totally though ESP during mild spells. You would not pot on again until spring. Hey alfiemoon, I'm watching a recording of eastenders at mo.....you are doing well to run queen vic and do gardening. Oh, the fleece is known as horticultural fleece, cheap and effective
15/08/2012 at 22:52

I've just started potting mine on for the 2nd time from 2.5 inch pots to 5 inch, they'll stay in these ones until spring next year. I haven't over-wintered any plants before (apart from a chilli my aunt oddly decided to sow in October), but I have a cold frame where they will hopefully be ok during the winter.

There are plenty of places you can cheaply buy a coldframe from, at this time of year  they will probably be on special offer too.

Good luck with your plants.

16/08/2012 at 10:47

Hello, I've been potting mine on gradually into bigger pots.

These are couple of pics of the foxgloves & dephiniums taken about a week ago.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/10869.jpg?width=307&height=350&mode=max

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/10870.jpg?width=307&height=350&mode=max