London (change)
Today 14°C / 11°C
Tomorrow 11°C / 2°C
1 to 20 of 31 messages
18/01/2014 at 12:45

After buying their rubbish Verve compost last year at B&Q I thought I would take a look to see if they are still selling it. Surprise surprise they are not showing any reviews on their site for compost. Is it any wonder, after gardening for over 50 years this is the worst compost I have ever seen, they should be ashamed for selling it.It was also voted the best compost by Which magazine.

18/01/2014 at 13:29

I had 3 bags last year and was very pleased with it. Apparently the formulation differs between the different sized bags. What problems did you find?

The Which? results are based on what seem to be rigorous trials, I usually find them a great help in choosing products.

18/01/2014 at 13:52

I had some compost last year from bnq one of the 150l bags and it was ok nearly as good as asdas compost

18/01/2014 at 15:31

I'm sorry but I'm really new to gardening but I really think you get what you pay for I only use John Innings and AB's compost but my local GC has a brand call grow wise witch is JI and very good. I have bought the expand and grow this year for my baskets as It was on offer I only buy when compost is on offer.

I must admit I did buy tesco's compost one year and it was rubbish but I would only use it now to bulk up a big pot and mix it with top soil

Clueless

Edd
18/01/2014 at 15:54
CluelessGardener wrote (see)

I'm sorry but I'm really new to gardening but I really think you get what you pay for I only use John Innings and AB's compost but my local GC has a brand call grow wise witch is JI and very good. I have bought the expand and grow this year for my baskets as It was on offer I only buy when compost is on offer.

I must admit I did buy tesco's compost one year and it was rubbish but I would only use it now to bulk up a big pot and mix it with top soil

Clueless