London (change)
Today 18°C / 15°C
Tomorrow 20°C / 15°C
18 messages
01/06/2013 at 20:59

I have 2 tomato plants in a grow bag, which I water and feed weekly. I actually water twice a week when it's dry. I have lots of beautiful leaves but no flowers or fruit forming. My strawberries on the other hand are forming beautifully and are producing runners too. I am new to gardening so due to lack of experience I don't know if this is right or if I'm doing something wrong. I read somewhere that tomato plants have gone leggy! Could this be the case with mine? Any help please.

01/06/2013 at 21:13

You don't feed tomatos until the first truss ( flowers) has set. I'd stop feeding and water slightly more if they're in a growbag. 

01/06/2013 at 21:20

Thank you very much for the advice. So put them on a diet 

01/06/2013 at 21:25

haha...this maybe of some help http://www.rhs.org.uk/Gardening/Grow-Your-Own/Veg-A-to-Z/Tomatoes

Try not to worry, but do continue to water on a regular basis and remove the suckers. These are located between the main stem and leaves, you can't miss them, well...

01/06/2013 at 21:56

Ahh yes the suckers! I've heard conflicting advice about those. Most say to remove them and I've heard to leave them alone  so do I cut as close to the main stem as possible? And I've noticed quite a few on my plants. Do I need to remove them all?

01/06/2013 at 23:21

What variety of tomato are the plants, Herby Lou?

01/06/2013 at 23:22

depends on the variety tbh, you have indeterminate, and determinate tomatoes, essentially vine or bush. If you have vine tomatoes take out the side shoots, the 'suckers', if a bush let it grow however it likes or you will be removing fruit! I don't feed til the first truss has formed, but some do and say they get more trusses and more fruit, it's up to you, but good luck and let us know how you are getting on.

02/06/2013 at 01:32