London (change)
Fri 17°C / 9°C
Tomorrow 14°C / 11°C
13 messages
02/05/2014 at 19:34

hi all 

pls be gentle im new 

im quite new to garden about to plant in borders in back garden as its blank canvas at moment as its a new build house ,im after plants with orange flowers with hopefuly flower over spring and summer and would like evergreen if possabile as im quite knew not sure what look for ,plants will be going in full sun area 

thanks

02/05/2014 at 19:43

I have an semi-evergreen buddleia which has orange globes for flowers it's called buddleia globosa. It has stayed in leaf all winter, but I live in the warm south, so might depend where you are. Oh and it's in a sunny spot in poor soil and is very happy.

Have a look and see if you like it? It can grow quite big, so depends on your space, but they don't mind a good prune.

02/05/2014 at 20:07

Berberis darwinii is a spiny shrub with orange flowers and it's evergreen.

02/05/2014 at 23:04
Berberis stenophylla is very prickly and has orange flowers in spring.
02/05/2014 at 23:45

My suggestion -  Geum 'Totally Tangerine' 

03/05/2014 at 00:04

Beat me to it shirlsgw....geum Totally Tamgerine is a must.  Flowers for months over evergreen mounds.  Cannas, lilies and tulips come in orange too.

I grow echinacea Tiki Torch, Marmalade and Summer Sun.....all oramge.  And agastache heatwave. Orange gazanias too.  

Spirea Goldflame is a orange foliaged shrub with red orange new shoots amd if cut back duri g the summer a little will produce those red orange shoots again during the summer.  

Agree  with berberis Darwinii.........in spring this evergreen is covered with brilliant orange flowers.  

Ok,  many of these are not evergreen but you can get orange colour in your garden with these plants.  

03/05/2014 at 09:17