London (change)
Today 8°C / 8°C
Tomorrow 13°C / 10°C
18 messages
27/05/2014 at 00:16

I am looking to find a white tree peony,  a neighbour has just what I want but the plant was in her garden when she bought the house and has no idea which one it is! 

It is a tree peony, it is white and has a single petal which is very tissue paper like. Does anyone have any ideas? I have tried to search the net to no avail.

Thanks Sara 

27/05/2014 at 06:39

Hi Sara - can't help you with the name, but thought i would let you know that i am growing one that my uncle raised from a stem cutting - so if you have some patience you might be able to grow one exactly the same as your neighbours.

also, if you can post a photo of the flowers someone on here might recognise it

27/05/2014 at 11:03

Hi Chicky, sadly it has stopped flowing now, it seemed to be early this year. I am not very technical with plants but I will research it and see if it is something I can do! 

Thanks x

27/05/2014 at 16:08

sara have a look at rhs website, or just google tree peony images, you'll spot it

27/05/2014 at 22:22

Hi Rosemummy, I have done that, I have seen some that are very like it but they just don't have the fragile petal that my neighbours does. I shall keep trying!

27/05/2014 at 22:29

Hi sara, are you sure it's a tree peony and not a tree poppy, like Romneya coulteri?

Those have large papery white petals with a yellow centre.

28/05/2014 at 01:32

We need to know if it's a peony or a poppy. I'm bothered about you saying it's a TREE peony. It doesn't exist! Tree poppy yes. Google them both and decide which you think it is. Look carefully at the flower shape. Tree poppies are VERY hard to find but you can propagate them from seed. Don't be confused by the term "tree", it's no larger than a small bush. Tree poppy ( Romneya coulteri) is always white. Get back to us.

28/05/2014 at 06:28

Of course tree peonies exist http://www.rhs.org.uk/advice/profile?PID=711 

28/05/2014 at 06:56