London (change)
Today 26°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 28°C / 20°C
16 messages
13/04/2013 at 18:30

I have 3 lovely variegated perennial wallflowers in my front garden that flower from spring right thru to autumn so I am guessing they will not seed.  I have "googled" but can find nowhere that stocks them.  I cannot remember where I got them from and would like more.  Can anyone give me any clue as to where I might buy them or propogate them.  I am new to the GW forum so this is my first post.  Hopefully someone out there can held.

13/04/2013 at 18:56

I would love to know too!

13/04/2013 at 19:00

Easy to propagate from cuttings in the summer.

13/04/2013 at 19:44

Got a couple of the bowles mauve type, bought them from a market last year.They have flowered their socks off for about 9 months, grew into lovely shrubs. Not looking so great now. I've got the purple coloured leaves and the buds on mine as well. I've hastily taken some cuttings, if they don't take I will definatley get some more and have a go at taking some cuttings next year

13/04/2013 at 22:22
I grow all the perennial wallflowers as if they are annuals. I think they flower best when one to two year old but then become woody and exhausted. As joslow and others have said cuttings are so easy. Flowering plants produced in a season
My favourite....although its tender....is Variegata (always called it that) with green and white leaves and white flowers Beautiful foliage plant that's reasonably hardy here. Superb cheap summer impact
01/05/2013 at 13:32

Hi Linda Mary , I am new here to , I have just purchased some Erysimum from Notcotts , But I forgot to ask when it was safe to plant them out any assistance will be much appreciated.

01/05/2013 at 20:04

Hi benno, if the plant is fair size, I would check to see if it needed potting on and  harden it off outside before planting in the ground. They are hardy and strong plants.

Mine are flowering again

01/05/2013 at 20:11

Welcome Linda Mary and benno to the forum