London (change)
Today 28°C / 17°C
Tomorrow 26°C / 17°C
19 messages
05/08/2013 at 21:11

Hi, I tried to grow this last year without a lot of luck, just a few short straggly plants but this year they are doing brilliant, have around 15 x3ft high stalks with between 3-5 lanterns on them, which are all green - do you know when they will change colour and can be harvested - they are in a cold greenhouse. thanks, Tony.

http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/28831.jpg?width=800&height=350&mode=max

05/08/2013 at 21:15

I'm expecting mine to go brown with an orange fruit as I've seen n the shops but it seems a slow process. Tomatoes are ripening round them and the physalis have looked the same for ages. It's my first try.

05/08/2013 at 21:59

They seem to turn in a sudden rush for me. One day all green, the next orange and then a few days later papery brown. The Duke of Rutland's pheasants usually get to them before I do.

I hope you have those plants well contained within your flowerbed. They spread underground like wildfire. I even found them coming up between the paving. A bit of a thug is our old physalis.

05/08/2013 at 22:04

do they spread wb? I thought they were annuals. Mine are in pots so they won't take over the world

05/08/2013 at 22:06

looked them up. they're tender perennials.

05/08/2013 at 22:19

There ia an ornamental one that is hardy and spreads like the clappers. Looks the

same but the fruit isn't edble.

05/08/2013 at 22:28

I've got that one addict and until this year it has spread like mad. this year it's shrunk and hardly any flowers.

05/08/2013 at 22:35