London (change)
Today 20°C / 16°C
Tomorrow 21°C / 14°C
10 messages
13/04/2014 at 23:58

Now then!  So at last this old beggar is asking advice.  No.  Please.  No flag waving and all that.  Ages ago.  At schol.  Mike was forced to follow the rule of the day.  So I studied atomic and engineering science.  Now at the age of 74+  I have lived with this question for years.

Question.  Within the insect world of pollinators.  So each visit so many flowers, during the day. Collecting and dispersing.etc.  So acoounting for all the various nectines, pollens etc collected.  How come, plants of the same genera, etc are at the end of the day fertilized?

14/04/2014 at 06:28

Good question that, Mike, wonder if anybody knows?

14/04/2014 at 06:51

It works much the same way as with the animal kingdom - those who are of one species can only fertilise others of the same species.

No matter how amorous a tom cat may feel, even if he managed to find a co-operative dog, there would be no offspring - the genetics do not match.

Plants have evolved so that those of similar species grow in similar conditions and bloom at similar times of year thus increasing the odds that a visiting bee, going from flower to flower,  will have sufficient pollen of the same variety on it's 'fur' to rub off onto the stigma in the flower.

A more complex bit comes when we consider fruit like some apples, who require pollen from a different variety of apple tree - this is because in these plants the stigma rejects pollen from genetically similar plants.

Is that of any help? 

14/04/2014 at 07:05