London (change)
Today 18°C / 14°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 9°C
19 messages
02/07/2014 at 18:28

Visited a beautiful but chaotic cottage garden today and there were a few plants I didnt recognis wondered if anyone can help

The above sign was next to the blue flower but as I said the garden was chaotic so wondering if its the correct sign.

Its the blue flower Im interested in

Yes there is a bit of a blue theme going on.  This one was huge about 5ft tall

This time its not the blue one, it looks white but it was pink the following pic is the same plant from a distance (its the airy fairy one in the middle).

Realise Ive not given you much to work on but wonder if you can help.

02/07/2014 at 18:37

Top one, allowing for a small spelling error, is OK

I'm not very good at bulbs

the tall one is another Campanula, probably lactiflora

The next is a double Geranium (pratense cultivar probably) and a thalictrum

The last is the  thalictrum, maybe a delavayi type

02/07/2014 at 19:40

Beautiful flowers Yviestevie, love the one in the third pic.

02/07/2014 at 20:36

Thanks Nutcutlet, Im sure Ive already posted a reply so sorry if this is duplicating.  Had a look at the Thalictrums (meadow rue) and there are a couple it could be.  Will take more piccies when I visit the garden again, some of the plants in the garden were really weird.  If anyone else knows any cottage gardens worth a visit in their area (bearing in mind I live in Kingswinford in the West Mids/Staffs/Shrops/Worcs border please let me know.

02/07/2014 at 20:39

The bulb is Brodiaea laxa Queen Fabiola (name changed recently though, but not sure what to).

The tall Campanula is possibly C. lactiflora Lodden Anna or Pritchard's Variety. I can never remember which is which of those two.

02/07/2014 at 20:47

Last one looks like Thalictrum delavayi, I think it has now been renamed Thalictrum dipterocarpum.  It is easy from seed, Try chiltern seeds.