London (change)
Today 15°C / 12°C
Tomorrow 18°C / 12°C
17 messages
25/03/2013 at 22:28
I have lots of plants raised from cuttings in my garden.....just as most people have....ranging from conifers to alpines. Suggestions please for perennials that can be quickly propagated by cuttings....penstemons, osteospermums,.....to provide cheap quick colour. I think this may be a useful thread for new gardeners
25/03/2013 at 22:39

This is a brilliant idea! I could really use some help on easy cutiings, as I have failed until now

25/03/2013 at 22:46
I had you in mind Ryan for this thread.
Am sure the suggestions will flood in for you and some useful tips too to ensure success
25/03/2013 at 22:47

I get the dunce's cap for cuttings, even after lessons on this forum. I shall follow and take notes.

25/03/2013 at 23:02

Good idea, Verdun! I am far from an expert and anything that is easy for me to do really is easy.

Fuchsias are really easy. You are supposed to take non-flowering tip cuttings, but they can be hard to find and I have found that flowering ones strike just as well. I just take a cutting about four inches long, strip off all the leaves except one at the top, dip the cutting in rooting gel and put it in moist compost with the leaf junctions under the surface. You are supposed to mix compost with coarse grit or vermiculite to improve drainage, but again, I have found that ordinary compost works perfectly well. I put a plastic bag over the top and apart from checking that the compost has not dried out, leave it alone for about four weeks, after which it has usually rooted. I then take the plastic bag off and keep it in the shade to grow on. There is some danger that the stem will rot if the compost is too wet, but actually it seldom happens to me and I've taken lots.