Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Repotting an Orchid

ElusiveElusive Posts: 992

Hi all I have a Phalaenopsis Orchid that is in need of re-potting. When is the best time to do this?

Pics below taken today

• Orchid LadyOrchid Lady Posts: 5,800

Hi, I'm not an orchid expert and never re-potted mine, but have done lost of research in readiness and bought the orchid compost etc, then they both produced babies so it's on hold again!!

I do know that orchids like to be quite 'pot-bound' and it is normal for their roots to grow over, as they grow like that naturally.  Also, don't re-pot when flowering I believe (which is why I've not done mine now).

I can't really help much more than that but I'm sure someone on here will know far more than me, but I do know more about orchids than any other plant (but that's not difficult).

I thought I would share a pic of one of my orchids, it flowered non-stop for 2 years!!  Not sure what variety it is though, wish I did!

• I am trying with one orchid as suggested on a gardening programme to grow it in a glass container with out soil ;at the moment it looks happy,they grow on trees so I quess they wont mind not having soil but the container gives it the  moistness it needs and the light.(they need to rest for awhile after flowering and they need watering when really dry and with rain water), in the glass container it needs no watering will be interesting to see if it works.image

• BiljeBilje Posts: 811