London (change)
Today 13°C / 10°C
Tomorrow 15°C / 14°C
19 messages
23/02/2014 at 16:24

I am looking for a plant to have as a feature in my front garden and have taken a liking to the salix caprea kilmarnock that are in asda. Can anyone tell me how tall they grow and how fast? I have found out on Wikipedia that they are grafted. Does this mean that they won't grow any taller than they are now?  Sorry to sound so ignorant but I'm a complete novice when it comes to the garden!

23/02/2014 at 16:29

They get a bit bigger Pauline because the new stems go up as well as out and down, if that makes sense. I had a group of three at the edge of a pond in a previous garden which had been there a long time. I'd say they were about 5' high and  about 4' wide, they'd been closely planted so would have been wider if they'd been spaced out more.  If I can find a photo I'll post it 

23/02/2014 at 16:33

We've one in our garden that has been here longer than we have - so it must be at least 15 years old.  It is about 5 foot high and the same wide.  Very pretty tree, but needs a bit of thinning out every now and then so it doesn't get too congested.

23/02/2014 at 16:35

This is the only one I could find - they're in the top left corner of the pic ( inside the 'corner' created by the posts ) above the little statue in the pond.

http://i1331.photobucket.com/albums/w595/fairygirl55/PA170791_zps0c74dc6d.jpg

23/02/2014 at 16:53

Thanks Rosie 31 & Fairygirl I am seriously considering getting one, it will fit without overpowering the garden. Fairygirl... what a beautiful garden!!! 

23/02/2014 at 17:19

...isn't that just a stunning garden photo with the pond, the conifers and those concrete or stone pillars by the gate, gives it a very Scottish or Northern feel to it... absolutely superb...