London (change)
Today 28°C / 18°C
Tomorrow 27°C / 17°C
16 messages
02/07/2012 at 23:12
http://s4.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/9513.jpg?width=350

http://s3.gardenersworld.com/uploads/images/original/9515.jpg?width=290&height=350&mode=max

Hi everyone.

This self seeded salvia is growing in my front garden.There are just 2 plants and as you can see it is quite eye catching .   It has grown to about 4ft 6"since the spring. I think it is Salvia Sclarea, Turkstanica, but I am not sure.

I have been growing them for about 3 years, the original was given to me by a friend and I have been asked for seed by people in the village as it such an unusual plan. The bees and insects love it!

It self seeds readily so once you have it in your garden you can almost guarantee you will have it year after year.

I had a bit of trouble uploading the photos but got there in the end

03/07/2012 at 14:36

Yes, S.s. Turkestanica.

03/07/2012 at 17:48

I can definitely cope with something that big and floriferous.  Is it very hardy or a bit whimpy?

03/07/2012 at 18:33

Hi everyone - I agree with Berghill about identity. I have it growing in our garden - it's very hardy I would say - it's a biennial and, in my experience, self seeds readily without becoming invasive.  

03/07/2012 at 18:33

Seems to be as tough as anything. Certainly if it survives here then it can take the cold.

03/07/2012 at 19:01

We have had it without any trouble through the last 2 cold winters, -18c at times, it just pops up again,. the ones in the photo are self set in gravel, with a membrane underneath, not even straight into the soil. We garden in Lincolnshire, usually very dry summers, but cold winds in winter from the east, very similar landscape to obelixx.I should imagine. Give it a go you wont be disappointed. You can easily remove seeds that set in places you don't want them and give them away to friends. I can usually find them a home.

03/07/2012 at 19:39