Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Shady blooms from seed - Help!

Hello!

To say I am a novice is an understatement so I'm looking for some help.  I am on round two of trying to establish my garden.  Bought my first house last year and merrily spent a small fortune on loads of plants more or less all died.  The culprit - a very large poplar tree that casts a reasonable amount of shade over my garden.  The tree is being removed this year and I want to try again - but for budget reason I want to start from seed where possible just to give me a strong basis before I start playing around with things in earnest.

Therefore I am looking for recommendations of plants that have the following tendencies...

• Easy for novices to grow
  • Fast establishing with good coverage
  • To be sown in Feb/Mar
  • Ideal scheme is white and purple/blue and a bit wild and unstructured.

Any ideas anyone.  Eternally greatful of your help.

• jo4eyesjo4eyes Posts: 2,058

Is the tree in your garden or a neighbours'?

If neighbours then unfortunately no guarentee it will be felled. If yours then if done asap you will have some time to deal with the soil conditions you will be left with. The soil beneath/around will be impoverished so will need TLC to improve things before you can safely plant things.

To do that properly takes time & effort, so had you thought about using large pots/planters for annual flower seeds, summer bulbs etc.? That way you'll get some colour this year.

Gardening in shade is challenging but there are lots of plants that will provide colour, providing you do 1.preparation of ground & 2. reasearch, ask on here etc, about suitable plants, J.

• nutcutletnutcutlet Posts: 27,445

Will it still be shady when the poplar's gone?

In the sticks near Peterborough