Forum home Plants
This Forum will close on Wednesday 27 March, 2024. Please refer to the announcement on the Discussions page for further detail.

Shy Bill

Hi

I planted a clematis "Bill MacKenzie a couple of years ago and it hasn't flowered as yet. It's growing up a south facing wall and is mulched in the spring and  is generally well looked after.Is there anything I can do to encourage it to flower??. Any comments will be gratefully received - thanks.

• Hi Peter, I can't say that I am a clematis expert, in fact, the only thing I know is that they like sun on their heads and their feet in the shade. But I didn't want you to think we were all ignoring you!
  • it has its roots in the shade and its growth in the sun? plenty of water in spring and only feed when in flower.This year has not been good for my clematis the only one to do well niobe.image

• make sure you prune at the right time, or you can lose the flowers.
  • Thanks for the replies. Thank you very much Penninepetal, I can see you must be a very caring person!! I'm a keen gardener so I've fed it and  pruned as stated in the text books - perhaps it will burst into flower next year. Funnily enough it's next to a Kiwi "jenny" and that's never flowered either - gardening can be so very frustrating !!

• Just a thought, but if other plants in that area aren't flowering, is it worth doing a soil analysis?  Or maybe just a watering with some soluble potash to give them a kick-start?

Gardening in Central Norfolk on improved gritty moraine over chalk ... free-draining.

• Good idea  - thanks

• ObelixxObelixx Posts: 30,066

Clematis can take a year or two to get established and are very greedy so I would give it a good general purpose feed next spring to get it growing well and add special rose, tomato or clematis fertiliser to promote flower production.  That will help the Kiwi too and you can top up every couple of weeks till mid June.